Hours: Mon-Sat 10AM - 6PM

Call us at (812) 376-9548

Cart

Your Cart is Empty

Back To Shop

Philosophy

Showing all 9 results

  • Why We Think What We Think

    $19.95

    We’re all starting to hear people ask how the world has gotten to be the way it is. Grafted onto the usual complaints about why people are so greedy, self-absorbed, and callous toward one another are new expressions of frustration about even more fundamental concerns. Why can’t we agree on concepts that used to be basic common sense? Why does our very language now seem to be a minefield that only the most wily and tactical (or cynical) among us can navigate?

    The only way to understand fully how we have arrived at this state – and what, if anything, we might be able to do about it – is to embark on a journey back in time to see where we went off the rails. With candor and occasional humor, Dan LeRoy tells the sweeping story of Western thought from its beginnings to the present, revealing the souls and idiosyncrasies of its greatest thinkers. Through stirring vignettes, he tells the real story of how our customs and thought patterns developed and then relates it to our current moment of rupture.

    In pages that sometimes read like an Indiana Jones adventure, LeRoy explains the detour that philosophy took nearly a thousand years ago that has led Western society to its current, dire situation. With sharp pen and clear eye, he reveals:

    *The roots of classical philosophy, including empiricism (Ready to wade into the water?)
    *How views on ethics and morality began to take shape even before Christ
    *The three ways to attain happiness, according to the Big Three philosophers
    *Four splinter groups and how their philosophies impact us today
    *The enduring teachings of Sts. Augustine and Aquinas, among many others

    You will find out about amazing discoveries during the early days of rationalism, from mathematical equations to intervals between music notes, and how this universal ratio applied to another scientific revelation. Along the way, you will see the relevance of famous (and infamous) beliefs, including the Realm of Forms, the Four Causes, and Pascal’s Wager as well as dualism, humanism, materialism, and pantheism. Additionally, you will learn about how these ideologies provided the basis for modern-day politics, education, and belief in the transcendent, and the bridge between ancient philosophy and Christianity.

    LeRoy unveils the ways in which the beliefs our society has largely abandoned still affect our everyday lives. Knowing why we think what we think is the only way to recover the ideas – many of them Christian in origin – tha

    Add to cart
  • On Hunting : A Definitive Study Of The Mind, Body, And Ecology Of The Hunte

    $18.99

    Hunting is our heritage, our heart, and our future.

    Where does hunting fit in the modern world? To many, it can seem outdated or even cruel, but as On Hunting affirms, hunting is holistic, honest, and continually relevant. Authors Grossman, Miller, and Cunningham dive deep into the ancient past of hunting and examine its position today, demonstrating that we cannot understand humanity without first understanding hunting. Readers will:

    – discover how hunting formed us,
    – examine hunting ethics and their adaptation to modernity,
    – understand the challenges, traditions, and reverence of today’s hunter,
    – identify hunting skills and their many applications outside the field,
    – learn why hunting is critical to ecological restoration and preservation, and
    – gain inspiration to share hunting with others.

    Drawing from ecology, philosophy, and anthropology and sprinkled with campfire stories, this wide-ranging examination has rich depths for both nonhunters and hunters alike. On Hunting shows that we need hunting still–and so does the wild earth we inhabit.

    Add to cart
  • Strange New World

    $17.99

    From Philosophy to Technology, Tracing the Origin of Identity Politics

    How did the world arrive at its current, disorienting state of identity politics, and how should the church respond? Historian Carl R. Trueman shows how influences ranging from traditional institutions to technology and pornography moved modern culture toward an era of “expressive individualism.” Investigating philosophies from the Romantics, Nietzsche, Marx, Wilde, Freud, and the New Left, he outlines the history of Western thought to the distinctly sexual direction of present-day identity politics, providing readers with a clearer understanding of the modern implications of these ideas on religion, free speech, and issues related to personal identity. For fans of Trueman’s The Rise and Triumph of the Modern Self, this new book offers a more concise presentation and application of some of the most critical topics of our day.

    Add to cart
  • Myth And Meaning In Jordan Peterson

    $18.99

    Popular philosopher Jordan Peterson has captured the imagination of Western world.

    For some, Peterson represents all that is wrong with patriarchal culture; for others, he is the Canadian academic prophet who has come to save civilization from dizzying confusion. Regardless of how one feels about him, his influence in North America–and beyond–is difficult to deny.

    While the “Peterson phenomenon” has motivated numerous articles and responses, much of what has been written is either excessively fawning or overly critical. Little has been produced that explores Peterson’s thought–especially his immensely popular 12 Rules for Life–within the context of his overall context and scholarly output. How is one to understand the ascendency of Jordan Peterson and why he’s become so popular? Does his earlier Maps of Meaning shed light on how one might understand his worldwide bestseller, 12 Rules for Life?In Myth and Meaning in Jordan Peterson, scholars across various disciplines explore various aspects of Jordan Peterson’s thought from a Christian perspective. Both critical and charitable, sober-minded and generous, this collection of ten essays is a key resource for those looking to faithfully engage with Jordan Peterson’s thought.

    Add to cart
  • Walking With C S Lewis A Companion Guide

    $19.99

    Walking with C. S. Lewis is an ideal guide for longtime Lewis fans and new readers alike to dive into the man, his works, and his impact alongside well-respected voices in the Lewis community. Each segment in this ten-segment video series focuses on a different book or topic in Lewis’ life, showing for each how the writings flowed out of Lewis’ life and thought. Professor Tony Ash also tells the story of his discovery of Lewis when he was a young man in transition and how Lewis has continued to shape his life and view of God in subsequent years. The richly detailed companion guide provides helpful summary of Lewis’ works and helps readers see the deeper connections between the books and the man who wrote them. In the video series, viewers will follow Professor Ash, seasoned biblical studies scholar and longtime Lewis aficionado, with many segments filmed on-location in Lewis’ Oxford. In the companion guide, Ryan Pemberton–former president of the Oxford University C. S. Lewis Society and author of Called: My Journey to C. S. Lewis’s House and Back Again provides an eloquent but accessible framework to better understand Lewis himself as well as a helpful supplementary discussion on many of his best-known works. The videos and companion guide are ideal for individual or group study, alongside one of his books or as a standalone inquiry into the man who has shaped the thought and faith of so many readers.

    Add to cart
  • How To Write Your Own Ticket With God

    $1.95

    This classic message, received by divine inspiration, gives four principles for receiving whatever you need from God.

    Add to cart
  • God Hunger

    $14.95

    SKU (ISBN): 9781893732032ISBN10: 1893732037John KirvanBinding: Trade PaperPublished: September 1999Publisher: Sorin Books

    Add to cart
  • In Him

    $3.49

    IN HIM

    A spiritual law too few of us realize is: Our confession rule us. Find out what God’s word says about you and make that your confession.

    Add to cart
  • Answer For Oppression

    $1.95

    The anointing of God’s power, ministered in love, is the key to deliverance from depression and oppression.

    Add to cart

Cart

Your Cart is Empty

Back To Shop